G/DC-006 Carnmenellis

Wednesday 29 April 2015

Before setting off to Cornwall I had downloaded a copy of the SOTA Satnav files along with the caveat that they had not been updated in a few years and so could well be out of date in some circumstance.  Well this was certainly the case with Carnmenellis.  In preparation of this activation I had read up on some of the previous activation reports to get an idea of where to park the car.  So I knew in my mind what to expect when I got to the parking place – well the Satnav had other ideas by sending me to the east side of the hill rather than the west side.  So after a little driving around I eventually found the site I was looking for.

carnmenellis route

Parking at SW 688 363 I made my way up the track then across country through the bracken and gorse to the trig point. Distance walked 0.44 miles ascent 155 feet.

Setting up near the trig point I opened up on 40m CW with 5 QSO’s with G4SMN, G4FGJ, F6EAZ, M0IML & PA7ZEE.  Switching to SSB secured a further 6 QSO’s with G6TUH, G4WSB, ON5SWA G0VWP, M0JLA & M3FEH before the band went very dead.

Conditions didn’t seem as good today as they had been yesterday but they reflected the way the bands had been fir some time.

73 Glyn

 

