G/DC-007 Watch Croft

Thursday 30 April 2015

Hensbarrow Beacon and Carnmenellis had been the only two hills I had planned to activate during our week away along with Kit Hill on the way home.  However, my Wife suggested whilst driving back to our cottage early from a trip to Truro that I should ‘do’ a hill that afternoon whilst she has a wee sleep.  The obvious hill had to be Watch Croft because of its location being the most westerly English summit it would be a long way to come in the future to activate. A quick check of the satnav suggested it was about a 45 minute drive allow 20 minutes to walk to the summit and 40 minutes activating this would give my wife 2.5 hours rest – perfect.

watch croft route

So it was off down the A30 to Penzance before cutting off towards the north coast and the parking place at SW 418 343.  Taking the track opposite the parking place lead up to a cottage at which point I turned right along a narrow but obvious track to the summit cairn.  Distance walked 0.77 miles ascent 185 feet.

Equipment:

FT-817 5 Watts plus 2Ah SLAB, linked dipole 60m, 40m & 20m and palm paddle keyer.

Using the trig to secure the mast I set up and self spotted for 40m SSB this lead to 8 QSO’s with EA1DFP, G0RQL, ON6ZQ, MM3PDM, EA2CKX, EA2DT, G6TUH & M0WBG.  Once the pile-up ended I became very aware that I was being watched, looking up from my radio I saw two gents sat across from me with a completely puzzled look on their faces.  We spent the next 15 minutes engaged in a conversation about radios and hill waking especially about the places we mutually walked around the world.  A pleasant end to a warm pleasant day.

watch croft bwatch croft awatch croft c

73 Glyn

