GW/NW-070 Great Orme

Tuesday 12 July 2016

20160712_130529.jpg
Today was the last day of our short break in North Wales and the plan was to return to Englandshire via the North Wales Expressway which conveniently goes very close to Llandudno and the Great Orme.  This gave me the opportunity for  a quick drive-on activation whilst the wife enjoyed the views from the car.  Parking up in the main car park I moved up the small slope to obvious fence.

Equipment

FT-817 5 Watts, 4.2Ah LiFePO4, 60m/40m/20m linked dipole, 7m sotapole and a palm paddle, VX-8 plus RSS 2M dipole.

Great Orme GW/NW-070

route.jpg

Self Spotting on 2-fm quickly brought in two local boys GW4ZPL/P (whom I had worked yesterday on Snowdon) and Mw0JWP but no one else despite calling for several minutes.  Setting up the HF station I spotted 7-cw and managed to get DL3HXX, DL1FU and F6EWB into the log.  Conditions seemed very poor with fast and very deep QSB but at least I had managed to qualify the hill.  Taking a quick break to get some hot drinks for my wife and myself I rechecked SotaWatch to see that G0EVV/P on NP-005 and GD4RQL/P on GD-005 were both active and spotting on 2-fm.  After a couple of calls to each station both Summit to Summits were in the log bringing an end to the short but fruitful activation.

20160712_130518.jpg

A pleasant end to a nice but damp short break.

73 Glyn G(W)4CFS/P

