G/SE-013 Detling Hill

white_horse_wood_country_park
My wife Mandi and myself were visiting our Daughter in Sittingbourne for her 30th birthday party and staying at the Bobbing Premier Inn.  The party was on the Saturday evening and my wife wanted a lay in on the Sunday before our drive back home.  This presented the ideal opportunity for an early morning activation of Detling Hill just 10 minute drive from the hotel.  I overslept by 30 minutes due to my phone running out of battery, so I didn’t get to the White Horse Wood Country Park, that forms the top of Detling Hill, until 0820.  Parking in the main Car Park (TQ808586) I set-up station on one of the many picnic benches that festoon the area.

Equipment

FT-817 5 Watts, 4.2Ah LiFePO4, 40m/30m/20m linked dipole, 7m sotapole and a palm paddle, VX-8 plus RSS 2M dipole.

Detling Hill G/SE-013

Due to lack of a functional phone I was unable to self spot, so relying on the RBNhole system I called on 7-cw and hoped for the best.  Well it didn’t take long before there was the best pile-up I’ve had in a while.  My apologies to those whom I asked to repeat their calls but there were several stations who were calling me but obviously couldn’t hear me because they just continued to call even when I responded with a specific part callsign.

log-2016

Anyway fourteen minutes after the first call the pile-up was worked and a total of fourteen station were in the log.  There was a good scattering from all over Europe with 9 DXCC countries worked including the only Brit, Ken GM0AXY in Edinburgh.  The temperature when I started the activation was -3C and although it had risen to 0C I was not properly dressed for staying out too long in these temperatures and my fingers were starting to hurt with the cold.  So with no more stations calling I packed up and headed back to the hotel for a shower and breakfast.

