2016 – A Review

merry-xmas
Well its now Boxing Day and I have no further hill walks planned this side of the New Year so its time to look back at what has happened this year and what I want to look forward to next year.

Firstly what didn’t I do from the 2016 ‘bucket list’? Well we had to cancel our holiday in North Yorkshire and my wife Mandi cancelled her trip to Portugal, so the hills in those two areas never can to fruition.  I had also planned to complete the Marilyns in South Wales and start on those from Mid Wales.  Well this never fully happened – but more about that shortly.

So what did I achieve in 2016 – firstly the stats:

  • I activated 55 summits this year of which 37 were uniques i.e. never before activated by me, so averaging just over 1 per week.
  • From those 55 summits I completed 444 QSO’s accumulating 166 points of which 36 were winter bonus points.
  • A total of 126 points were gained from Summit to Summit radio contacts.

This was a lot less than I had hoped for this year – so what went wrong?  Well during a fantastic walk up Sugarloaf in South Wales I twisted my ankle and as a result only managed to get up 18 hills during the whole of the 2nd half of the year!  This is the main reason why I have not completed South Wales and only managed a handful in Mid Wales, I had originally planned to do about 100 hills this year.

20160202_101333
So what were the high points of the year?  Well this has to be my two mini expeditions.  The first was to South Wales on the 1st & 2nd February where I activated Black Mountain, Mynydd Carn-y-cefn & Craig y Llyn followed by Pen y Fan & Fan Fawr. These 5 peaks accumulated 41 points so a good trip.  I fact in the first 3 months of 2016 I completed all of the high peaks of the Brecon Chain.  My 2nd exped was a 3 day trip to the Welsh Marches activating 12 summits during absolutely glorious sunny weather in May.

So what for the coming year – well this is going to be an extra special year for me as I will have some very exciting news to announce soon although I can’t say anymore until later in January!!  As a result of this I am not going to predict what hills I will be doing as it’s all likely to change.  Suffice to say what I will be doing this year will bring awareness of Summits On The Air (SOTA) to a wider audience for all the right reasons.  One prediction I will make though is that I am currently standing on 371 activator points and this I intend to take past 500 points this coming year.

I look forward to working many of you during the coming year

